Morphology and structure The influenza virus belongs to the RNA viruses and comes from the family of Orthomyxoviridae. It is usually spherical in shape with a diameter of 80-120 nm. There are 3 distinct types of influenza virus: A, B and C. The genome consists of 8 (type A and B viruses) or 7 (type […]